The heart to heart (sort of)

I picked Emmie up from school after this morning’s little fiasco and she seemed as cheerful as ever. She and a new friend, Eleanor, scooted towards home together, leaving me to bond with Eleanor’s dad over parenting pleasantries — “how is she finding school?” “where do they get their energy?”

As we trudged toward our street, parting ways with Eleanor and her dad over promises of playdates, I quelled the urge to interrogate Emmie about the day’s activities. I held my tongue until we were settled on the living room couch. Yet what I thought might be a heart to heart turned out to be nothing of the sort. Our conversation went something like this:

Emilie, I noticed you didn’t sing in church today.

No, I didn’t sing.

Well all the other children were singing, why didn’t you?

I didn’t like the song.

You didn’t sing because you didn’t like the song?

Yes, and because I didn’t feel like singing.

Oh, right. Well, um…

That was pretty much the end of the conversation. In Emilie’s own words: FAIL. She did go on to say a few things about not liking church and not liking Jesus, and I was about to get an exorcist on speed dial until I realised that was just her way of venting and expressing her frustration.

I did manage to get a few smiles and giggles out of her and all seems well again. For now. I have a meeting with her teacher tomorrow afternoon and I am hoping for a positive report.

Stay tuned…

One thought on “The heart to heart (sort of)

  1. That sounds EXACTLY like Emilie! She’s like her own boss.
    What on earth are we going to do with this little teenager who’s not even a teen yet?

Leave a Reply

