Back in action!

Did you miss me? Well, I missed you! Come ‘ere and gimme a big hug. It’s been awhile!

Ah, now that we have that out of the way, it’s time for an update.

Half-term was hell. I had 2 sick kids on my hands while feeling pretty crappy myself. I spent last Saturday night hanging out in A&E with Zoie who spiked a temperature of 39.2C (approx. 103F).  A weary looking nurse gave me a syringe of Calpol to wrestle into Zoie’s mouth and told me to strip her down to her nappy. She then left us to sit there.

For 5 hours.

At about 1am I thought, screw this I’m leaving, and I bundled Zoie up and walked straight out of the ward. No one even noticed. Great. I circled back to reception and confronted the bored lady who had checked me in on our initial arrival. She gave me a blank stare as though she’d never seen me before in her life.

“Just let me back in,” I grunted.

I gave the doctor an earful when he finally appeared. No, I could care less that it is a Saturday night – slovenly, drunk teenagers shouldn’t be getting priority over a 16-month old burning with fever, they should be getting 2 Advil and a kick in the ass.

We were finally discharged at 2am with antibiotics  and a leaflet on how to bring down a fever. How helpful. I was out-of-pocket 29 quid for the round trip taxi ride and I’d lost her sippy cup somewhere along the way.

I remember when my Saturday nights were spent as one of those slovenly, drunk teenagers…

Nevertheless, I’m glad I took her in to be seen. There’s no substitute for peace of mind and I’m happy to report we are all on the mend.

It’s good to be back!

 

 

One thought on “Back in action!

  1. Hi Mish, so sorry to hear that… Lorenzo just reminded me that to avoid spending ages at A&E we called the patient care 24 of Kingston hospital when Emma wasn’t feeling well. Their number is: 0845 601 0909. We always had appointments within an hour with a doctor. With no queues and hassles.

Leave a Reply

