Christmas backdrop tutorial

Here is the promised tutorial – forgive me, but I am incredibly tired tonight so it will be a bit of a slapdash tutorial, particularly since it is so simple to do. Simple and inexpensive. Not the most luxurious, but an easy way to glitz up a dinner party on a budget!

First your materials:

  1. a curtain rod – I got mine from Ikea for just £1.19!
  2. wide wired ribbon  – about 3 meters
  3. thin ribbon – I used 4 meters
  4. small round Christmas baubles
  5. jewelled dangling Christmas ornaments
  6. scissors

And how to put it all together:

  • Cut a length of thin ribbon and tie a small bauble at one end
  • Tie other end to curtain rod
  • Continue tying baubles and ornaments onto thin ribbon and then tying onto the curtain rod
  • Length doesn’t matter – alternate
  • When finished, wrap the wide wired ribbon around the length of the curtain rod, covering the loose ends of thin ribbon
  • Using any leftover wide wired ribbon, make two bows for the ends of the curtain rod
  • Hang and enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sharing with Centsational Girl!

2 thoughts on “Christmas backdrop tutorial

  1. What a cute, simple idea! It adds just the right bit of glitz to the room too. I can think of a few ways to play with this idea so thank you! If I wind up doing any of them, I’ll link back to your original post so you get credit. The way the ornaments dangle sort of reminds me of a little rain shower for some reason so I may go that direction. 🙂

    Thanks so much for sharing!!

  2. Thank you, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! It was literally something I put together in 10 mins using the leftover ornaments that didn’t make it onto the tree, haha!

    Thanks for visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

