Good to be paraben free? pt. 2 – The haul

Following on from my earlier post on parabens, I decided to see what paraben free products  I could find in my local stores. I love an excuse to go shopping!

So while my aim was to see if I could replace my current products with ones that were paraben free, I decided not to panic if I couldn’t. Lucky for me, I found a wonderful range of paraben free products, brand names included!

Check ’em out:

1.  JASON Kid’s Only – Bath Gel & Shampoo – 99p each at my local 99p store

Verdict: These were the bargain of the day and my first purchase. They smell delicious and are also wheat/gluten free. I only wish that the shampoo was a bit more moisturising, but overall a great find!

2. Original Sprout – Natural Curl Calmer & Leave-In Conditioner – £10 &  £6 from afrotherapy.com but can also be found in John Lewis

Verdict: I love, love, love these products! Like I said before I plan to one day devote an entire post to Original Sprout. Not only are these products paraben free, they are also free of just about every other chemical as well as being vegan! They have a lovely smell and leave my girls’ hair soft and silky – especially the Curl Calmer which is a must for curly-haired kiddies. I use it in my hair too!

3.  Amie – Morning Clear Purifying Facial Wash – £5 from Waitrose

Verdict: Amie is a range of products formulated especially for pre-teen and teenage skin. I thought what better way to keep my face looking youthful? Haha. This face wash was creamy, moisturising, and a scrummy cotton candy pink color. I’ve been using it for 2 weeks now and I have to say my skin is completely glowing! Can’t fault it at all. It is also free of mineral oils, sodium laureth sulphate, GM ingredients, and is vegan.

4.  Mixed Chicks Kids – Leave-In Conditioner – £9.95 from afrotherapy.com

Verdict: I haven’t actually purchased this product but I wanted to include it nonetheless. After discovering that my favorite hair styling product Mixed Chicks Leave-In Conditioner was chock full of parabens, I was thrilled to see that their kids version is completely paraben, alcohol, and fragrance free! Win!

5. Nature Baby Care – ECO Sensitive Wipes w/ Aloe – £2.55 from Boots

Verdict: A good, strong wipe. Not as thick as the Huggies wipes I used to use and not as moist. They are fragrance free, chlorine free, paraben free, and biodegradable. I have to honestly say I much prefer the Huggies wipes to these and will probably be looking for an alternative brand to this one.

6. Sanex Zero % – Dry Skin Shower Gel – £1.30 from Waitrose

Verdict: Awesome shower gel. Really delicate almost citrus scent and left my skin feeling clean and smooth. It is paraben, phthalate, and color free. It is also eco-friendly and has a biodegradable formulation. Very good price too!

7. Tresemme Naturals – Nourishing Moisture Conditioner – £5.50 at Superdrug

Verdict: The conditioner of the gods! Seriously. No other conditioner makes my super curly hair as soft, moisturised, and silky as this bottle of creamy goodness. Smells great, contains organic aloe and avocado oil,  and is paraben and silicone free!

4 thoughts on “Good to be paraben free? pt. 2 – The haul

  1. Congratulations on making the switch away from parabens. As you found out (I did the same a few months ago), there are lots of good options for more natural skin care products. I always check store bought products against one or both of two website databases. They are the Good Guide and the Skin Deep site. I just finished writing about both on my blog at http://wp.me/p1BAZi-8m Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

