Farewell Tarquin

Today’s post was supposed to be titled “Tarquin goes to school”.

This is Tarquin.

image

Last night, I gave my little owl friend a mini makeover. I added some stitches around his wings and repaired one googly eye that had popped off and rolled across the room. When I had finished he was looking very spiffy indeed!

This is Tarquin this morning.

image

He was happily hanging out with his bookend owl buddies.

Then I had a not-so-bright idea.  Let’s send Tarquin to school.

I got him all ready to go,

image

and off he went.

image

Sadly, Tarquin never returned home. My forlorn five year old informed me after school that Tarquin had disappeared somewhere between the playground pirate ship and the dining hall.

I will admit that my bottom lip quivered.

I’d like to think that dear Tarq has gone travelling home in some other child’s bookbag and will have many great adventures…

In the meantime I can only say, farewell my friend.

image

7 thoughts on “Farewell Tarquin

  1. I would like to think that Tarquin is free, flying through the forest at night and by day he is tucked into a warm and dry tree hole. Perhaps you need to consider making a Tarquin Too?

Leave a Reply

