Sew Sweet

Thanks to Ikea (and a small miracle) I am the proud owner of a new sewing machine.  I have to be honest – I am rubbish at sewing.

In junior high as part of our home economics class we were taught to sew. I actually produced a rather fetching red and yellow summer dress. I have since forgotten just about every basic sewing step. At the very least, I can thread the machine.

Z4

I’ve found that online tutorials do little to help me – I just don’t get the concepts or terminology even with instructions loaded with photos.

So I simply wing it instead.

Today I wanted to make a little drawstring bag for Zoie. She’s 2 and storing treasures is what she’s all about.

I freehand cut letters out of felt and zigzagged stitched them to a Laura Ashley remnant I had in my craft stash.

Z5

It was crooked as can be, but the letters stayed on and that’s all that mattered!

Z1

So my stitches on the felt were manic, but the stitching along the top came out quite nice, methinks.

Z2

I threaded some sheer ribbon through the top and voila, a lovely treasure bag, rather handy for toting around favourite bedtime stories.

Z3

For me, this basic little bag was a trial in patience and a steady hand. If you actually would like to make one of your own, try this tutorial from the original craft guru, Martha.

With a little more practice I might soon get the hang of this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

