Yarn-bombed fabric holder

The Easter holidays were manic to say the least. Carting the kiddies around to visit swimming pools, parks, soft play, and a museum with a T-Rex so lifelike that I had to physically carry a petrified Emilie away from it.

I barely got a moment to myself.  Until yesterday.

The sun came out! After weeks of endless rain, hail and snow flurries, the first signs of spring were here! I flung open the door to the garden and let the kids make mud pies while I caught up on some crafting.

I had in my possession a rather dull “basket” that I found in the clearance section of T.K Maxx (T.J Maxx in the US) for £3. It was actually some sort of giant outdoor candle holder but I decided it would make a great holder for my growing fabric stash.

But it was ugly.

So I yarn-bombed it…

B1

I love the idea of yarn-bombing. In my town I’ve come across yarn-bombed trees, park benches, and most recently a yarn-bombed roundabout.  Lovely, fuzzy “graffiti”.  It makes me smile.

B2

I crocheted around the spokes using the technique in this video.  It was a bit fiddly trying to crochet in such a tight space, but I like the way it turned out.  Still a bit ugly but alot less dull!

B3

And my fabric fits snuggly inside! 🙂

Leave a Reply

