How does my garden grow?

Out of control.

On my way to take Emilie to a playdate yesterday, I came across a landscape guy working on my neighbour’s garden.  The sun was shining and as I thought guiltily about the jungle that was currently brewing in my backyard, I succumbed to the urge to solicit him for a quote.

I pointed out my embarrassingly overgrown hedges, weed choked flower beds, and swamp-height grass.  He promised he’d give me a great deal on sorting out both the front and the back gardens. And he could start in the morning.  It sounded too good to be true.

It was.

IMG_7439

He turned up an hour late and brought his little brother and wife (neither looked a day over fifteen) to help out.  After approximately 45 mins of the fastest grass cutting and hedge trimmer wielding I had ever witnessed, I was left mind-boggled by the mess they had made!

As I began to protest the horrendous workmanship an older man turned up.  I presumed this was the father of the operation. He had one eye and was covered in tattoos.

I parted with the cash post-haste.  Let’s think of it as a charitable donation.

IMG_7438

In the aftermath, I’ve been ringing reputable companies for quotations to sort out the disaster.  I’ve certainly learned my lesson.

If it seems too good to be true, it probably is.  And in the words of my mother, “cheapness is never good.”

IMG_7437

Perhaps I need to take up a spot of DIY gardening?

Leave a Reply

