Five Minute Friday – Brave

Today I am participating in a freewriting exercise called “Five Minute Friday”.  You can read all about it here on Lisa Jo-Baker’s site.

The challenge is to freewrite on a topic for just 5 minutes – no more, no less.  You cannot edit, backtrack, or change what you have written. This is pretty much the whole point of freewriting, you see.

This week’s topic is: BRAVE

Here is what I wrote:

I have a little boy. He stole my heart. From the moment I laid eyes on that tiny bundle, snuggled myself against that soft, warm cheek, I was in love. Unconditionally and inextricably.  My boy is the embodiment of brave. Poked and prodded from just a few weeks old. Many nights spent on hospital wards. Endless lists of medications, supplements, tests, trials, and all that comes with being “special”.  Because he is special, in every possible definition of the word.  He never lets his challenges hold him back.  He is bursting with energy and love and kindness.  He minds his manners yet can also be loud, rambunctious or downright over-the-top.  He does silly things like hug random strangers and slightly embarrassing things like lick the shopping cart handle.  I once filled up with tears when he threw a tantrum in public until I realised that it was me who wasn’t coping, not him.  I needed to be brave. Like him.  He has taught me about myself in ways I could never imagine and I am eternally grateful that I can call him my son.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And that’s it.  When I looked up at the screen and re-read what I wrote, I felt a tinge of pride.  Not bad at all.

I found it therapeutic and enjoyed the challenge of not being allowed to alter the words that flowed freely from my heart. I am notorious for editing, perhaps to a fault.  I find myself tweaking things that I wrote back in high school — now some 15 years in the past.  This was a wonderful exercise in restraint and I welcome it.

Freewriting is something I have come across in the many creative writing and literature classes I have taken throughout both my degrees.  But this is the first time I have used the technique as a blog post.  And I rather like it.

I think I will try to keep up with “Five Minute Fridays” — it’s always good to step out of your comfort zone.

Have you ever tried freewriting?  What do you think of when you see the word BRAVE?

signature

(credit goes to Lauren @ The Thinking Closet for inspiring me through her own “Five Minute Friday” post today!)

5minutefriday

13 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Brave

  1. Good job! And what a beautiful, brave boy you have. I have five sons and one daughter and have also learned so much about bravery from them. I agree with you . . this exercise if very freeing and gives me an unedited glimpse into my own mind and heart. Glad to have found you 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words! Being a mom is both the hardest and most amazing thing ever. When I saw the topic of “brave”, I immediately thought of my little guy. Thank you so much for stopping by, come back again soon. 🙂

  2. This was really great! Really touching! I could totally relate to the part about us parents being the ones not coping…..been there! 🙂

  3. Way to go, Mish! I’m so glad that you decided to participate, as well! Isn’t freewriting so…well…freeing!? I’m sort of surprised I haven’t been applying it to blogging more often. I suppose we feel this pressure to only publish things that we’ve labored over and meticulously triple checked…but there really is such value in letting the words spill and sharing them as they are.

    I loved this section: “…until I realised that it was me who wasn’t coping, not him. I needed to be brave. Like him.” Chills.

    • Thanks Lauren! It truly was a great exercise and “freeing” is the best way I can describe it. I have a lot of emotions pent up and letting some trickle out unedited made me feel vulnerable yet strong and coincidentally, very brave indeed! 🙂

  4. I love what you wrote. It is difficult to write without editing…especially for perfectionists like me! Your son is surely much braver than you know. It think God gives a little more of it to those who especially need it 😉

  5. What a beautiful tribute to your son. I know I have learned so much about living from my kids. Thanks for sharing! 🙂 Btw, I love freewriting. Some of my best stuff has come when I silence my inner critic! 🙂

  6. Hi Mish! Just wanted to give you encouragement- I think it takes a brave mama to raise a brave boy! Glad we have little ones who can teach us how to be brave, and glad I found you through Lauren and FMF 🙂

  7. Oh – this made me cry! My eldest was a very early born babe and has the “special” label and he is nothing short of amazing. I too, find that I can learn so much from him and his strength gives me strength in spades.

  8. Pingback: Freewriting Fridays | Very Novel

Leave a Reply

