Blog makeover and Thrifty Tuesday

Howdy! If you’re reading this, you are seeing my brand new blog theme!  I love the subtle handmade look — the notched ends of the pages bar reminds me of ribbon and the dividing lines on the sidebar are perfect pinked edges! I also added a new header combining my love for craft, photography, and writing.  Yes, that’s my handwriting (hehe) and it is an excerpt from my favourite poem, “The Walrus and The Carpenter” by Lewis Carroll.

What do you think of the new look?

T1Today is Thrifty Tuesday. Which simply means I’ll be showing you my weekly haul from local charity and thrift stores.  I scooped the vintage thread spools, wooden buttons, and ribbon rosettes all for 50p.  Absolute bargain and great craft room decor!

PC1

This is my absolute favourite find of the week — old postcards. From all over the world.  At 10p each I grabbed 19 of those with the most interesting  photos, handwriting, and subject matter.  The oldest is dated 1939.  With a few strips of washi tape I created a collage out  of some of the nicest ones above my mantle. Each time I glance at them I get a wonderful sense of nostalgia and feel a bit privileged to have a sneak peak into the personal correspondence of people I’ll never meet.

PC3I also love trying to decipher the handwriting.  My former job as an archivist comes in handy for this — I used to spend hours poring over historical documents and updating databases!  This one was easy to read:

Thank you so much for the photo, we think it splendid Mr. Wright is a very good amateur; you are on the mantlepiece of our new dining room…

Lovely.

canAnd my final thrifty item is actually something I made rather than bought.  A soup tin, some patterned tissue paper, and a few dabs of watered down pva glue created this sweet little holder for my crochet hooks (or pencils, or scissors, or paintbrushes…). It was simple, took 5 minutes to make and cost me nothing at all.  My kind of crafting!

Have you scooped any thrifty finds lately? Send me a link below!

signature

 

 

6 thoughts on “Blog makeover and Thrifty Tuesday

  1. I love the new look! And your find of the postcards is most delightful.

    p.s. For some reason the “like” button does not appear to be loading. If it would have loaded I would most certainly have clicked it. 😉

    • Ah, thank you! You made my day! 🙂 Silly “like” button, not sure what happened with that! Can you maybe refresh to see if it comes up? I hope others aren’t having the same problem…

      • Ah-Ha! That refresh button comes in rather handy, doesn’t it. I just didn’t want you to feel un-liked since it was the button and not you.

  2. Hi! Found you on the May BloggyMom Blog Hop. I thought to myself before I even started reading first post that I liked your look. Pretty funny that you had just done it. I also love old postcards. I used to seek those out in antique stores for either unique handwriting or fabulous places. Glad I found you!

Leave a Reply

