Five Minute Friday – Song

Shhhh…. it’s Saturday, but I won’t tell if you won’t.

My Five Minute Friday is a little delayed but better late than never I always say!

This week’s topic is: SONG

So without further ado:

I’ve always wished that I could sing. And by sing I mean having a half decent singing voice, not the crackly strained alto I currently possess.  I bravely took up choir in high school, secretly jealous of the sopranos with notes like tinkling bells, while I slouched in the back row and croaked along like a timid toad.  But honestly I’m not that bad. I think.  I held out hope that my kids would be blessed with better pipes than I was. Until recently that hope was high – and then I caught my daughters’ rendition of Incy Wincy Spider.  Clearly the inability to carry a tune runs in the family. As I type this I can hear my mother churn out a song in the kitchen. It is being butchered. Something mournful and reminiscent of ancient Sunday services in the parish church. Scary yet somehow soothing in its familiarity.  Sing, song, sung.

True story.  And I made myself chuckle!

Happy Friday, er Saturday!

signature

5minutefriday

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Song

  1. That’s awesome. Funny the things we hope our kids do better than us, isn’t it? 🙂 Great post lady, and you’re not the only one running a bit late this week. 🙂

  2. Your story is delightful! I don’t have nearly as good a voice as I think I do, but that doesn’t stop me from belting in the car. I don’t sing too loud in church because my family would look askance. Glad I found your blog.

  3. Mish! I’m overjoyed to see that you’ve stuck with 5 Minute Fridays! The past few Fridays have been a whirlwind, but I’m hoping to join in on the fun again soon. And boy, did you knock another one out of the park. Your last three lines are killer: “Something mournful and reminiscent of ancient Sunday services in the parish church. Scary yet somehow soothing in its familiarity. Sing, song, sung.” Dang, girl. You’ve got wordsmith skills! 😉 Love it!

Leave a Reply

