Quick Vintage Button Necklace – Tutorial

I love home-made jewellery.  You get to create designs to suit your style and when someone admires it you can proudly say “I made it myself!”

Today I’m going to show you how to make a quick, quirky vintage button necklace.  It really is super simple!

BC1

Lately I’ve been raiding my jewellery drawer to find old, broken, or “out of fashion” pieces that I haven’t worn in ages.  A few days ago I found a bracelet that I’ve never worn. It had a pretty piece of floral chiffon type fabric woven into it so I pulled it out and thought, yep I can make something out of that!

necklace7

Have a dig through your own jewellery stash or just snip some fabric from an old dress, sheer curtains, or any type of airy material.  Go on a rummage at your local charity/thrift shop and scoop some vintage-y buttons.  A bit of felt and a hot glue gun are the last two ingredients required to make this snazzy piece.  Ready? Get to it!

You will need:

  • 2 thin pieces of fabric long enough to tie around your neck
  • a piece of felt in your choice of colour, cut into a wide triangle shape
  • loads of vintage buttons, beads, fabric rosettes, whatever you fancy!
  • hot glue gun

Vintage button necklace

How to make your necklace:

  1. Lay your buttons out on top of your felt until you are happy with the arrangement. Don’t be afraid to overlap or experiment with different sizes and shapes of buttons!
  2. Using little dabs of hot glue, glue each button in place.  Working from the middle outward helps.
  3. Grab your strips of fabric and tie a knot at one end of each piece, leaving about an inch of fabric loose at the end of each knot.
  4. Flip your felt/button piece over and hot glue the one inch loose end (the end with the knot in it) of each piece of fabric to each side of the felt triangle.
  5. Ta da! All done and ready to wear!

necklace6

I feel pretty! How about you? 🙂

signature

 

DS2

One thought on “Quick Vintage Button Necklace – Tutorial

Leave a comment