Kid’s Book Nooks

I have only  one essential requirement for my dream home:

A book nook!

There is just something about having a little place designated in the home where you can cuddle up with a good book and relax that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

This morning as I rearranged (for the millionth time) my kid’s overflowing book shelves, I began to daydream about finally giving them their own special reading space.

Here are a few inspirations I found:

Amazing nook inside a playroom! I love how the book shelves are designed to have the books facing out so that kid’s can easily choose what they want to read. (via)

A few colourful cushions and a crate full of books make the perfect no-hassle nook. Very simple to put together – a godsend for busy moms! (via)

The secret hideaway! Think converted broom closet. Two simple shelves and a vintage lamp to shed light on their favourite tales. Kids will love this tucked away retreat. (via)

Bright, funky, and undeniably cool! A cloud bubble nook which would be great for older kids, tweens and teens. (via)

If you love a bit of DIY, this is the nook for you! Made out of pallets, this space-saving nook would make the perfect weekend project. (via)

The “whole family” nook. This nook is large enough to hold a couple of kids or an adult and kid combo for bedtime stories. You could even divide the shelves into kid and adult sections. (via)

A skinny nook with a view. Perfect for a quick catch-up on your favourite novel. This is a great no-frills option for moms and dads. (via)

And finally — my DREAM nook! Two words = enormous window. Seeing all that natural light pouring in is making me giddy!  If I had a nook like this, I would never leave it. I would probably eat and sleep there and need to hire a nanny. Ah well, a girl can dream!  🙂

Do you have a book nook in your home?

Leave a comment